Men's major golf championships | Women's major golf championships

Kraft Nabisco Championship

The Kraft Nabisco Championship (originally the Colgate/Dinah Shore Winner's Circle Championship) is one of the four major golf tournaments for women on the LPGA Tour. It was founded in 1972 by Dinah Shore and has been classified as a major since 1983. The annual tournament is held at the Mission Hills Country Club in Rancho Mirage, California.

Many parties are thrown at hotels in the Palm Springs area for lesbians, and this has caused the event to reach cult status among lesbians who may or may not have an interest in golf. This aspect of the tournament has been featured on The L Word, as per its cult status. The weekend is still called the Dinah Shore Weekend in the community, even though Shore's name was removed from the tournament title not long after her death in 1994.

U.S. Women's Open

The U.S. Women's Open Golf Championship is one of the LPGA's major championships along with the LPGA Championship, the Women's British Open, and the Kraft Nabisco Championship. It is the only event to have been recognized as a major by the LPGA since its founding in 1950; the other current majors were not founded until later.

Unlike its men's counterpart, the U.S. Women's Open is not globally recognized as a major championship. The Ladies European Tour does not sanction any of the three majors held in the United States. However the significance of this is limited as the LPGA Tour is more dominant in women's golf than the PGA Tour is in men's golf.

LPGA Championship

The LPGA Championship, currently known for sponsorship reasons as the McDonald's LPGA Championship Presented by Coca-Cola, is the second-longest running tournament in the history of the Ladies Professional Golf Association surpassed only by the U.S. Women's Open. It is one of four majors on the LPGA tour, but is not recognized as a major by the Ladies European Tour.

Up until 2004 the LPGA Championship had a professionals only rule. This is in contrast to events such as the U.S. and British Opens, which have long had both amateur and professional entrants. The LPGA Championship is the LPGA's own event, and the LPGA was created specifically to provide opportunities for women in professional golf. In 2005 this rule was revoked, effectively to allow Michelle Wie to compete in order to attract more media coverage though this was not publicly acknowledged by the LPGA. Some professionals objected to this move as they felt that places given to amateurs would come at the expense of the LPGA Tour's less successful professionals, who need to play regularly to make a living. One of the leading professionals, Laura Davies stated that in her opinion objections to the change were shortsighted.

LPGA Championship

The Women's British Open, also known for sponsorship reasons as the Weetabix Women's British Open, is one of the leading events in women's professional golf, being the only tournament which is classified as a major by both the Ladies European Tour and the LPGA Tour. The event was established by the Ladies Golf Union of Great Britain in 1976. It became an official stop on the LPGA Tour in 1994. It has been an LPGA major since 2001, when it took the place of the du Maurier Classic on the list of majors. In 2005 the prize money, which was fixed in U.S. Dollars, was $1,800,000.